Past Presidents of MIC




Mr.john Thivy (1946-1947)

Mr.John Thivy


Mr. John Thivy was the founder President of the MIC. His father Louis Thivy was the first Indian to be appointed to the Perak State Council in 1929.

திரு. ஜோன் தீவி மைஇகாவின் அமைப்புத் தலைவர். இவரது தந்தை லூயிஸ் திவி, 1929ம் ஆண்டு பேரா மாநில ஆட்சிக் குழுவின் உறுப்பினராகநியமிக்கப்பட்ட முதல் இந்தியர்.


Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 11.52.52 AM

Mr. Sardar Budh Singh (1947-1950)


Sardar Budh Singh, the second President of the party , followed the founder’s deep anti-British sentiments.

கட்சியின் இரண்டாவது தலைவரான சர்தார் பூத் சிங் கட்சியின் அமைப்புத் தலைவரைப் பின்பற்றி பிரிட்டிஷ் காலணித்துவ ஆட்சிக்கு கடுமையான எதிர்ப்பைத் தந்தவர்.


Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 11.53.00 AM

Mr. K.Ramanathan (1950-1951)


Mr.K Ramanathan served as President for a very short period but continued the party’s non-communal policy.

கே.ராமநாதன் மிகக் குறுகிய காலமே கட்சியின் தலைவராகச் சேவையாற்றியவர் என்றாலும் கட்சியின் இனச் சார்பற்ற கொள்கையை தொடர்ந்து பின்பற்றியவர்.


Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 11.53.09 AMMr.K.L.Devaser (1951-1955)  

In 1954 the MIC under the fourth President Mr. K.L. Devaser became the third partner in the Alliance with UMNO and MCA.

1954-ம் ஆண்டு, மஇகா, அதன் நான்காவது தலைவர் திரு. தேவாசரின் தலைமைத்துவத்தில் அம்னோ, மசீச ஆகிய கட்சிகளுடன் இணைந்து கூட்டணியின் மூன்றாவது பங்காளிக் கட்சியாக ஆனது





Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 11.53.15 AM

Tun V.T.Sambanthan (1955-1973)


Tun V.T. Sambanthan was one of the signatories of the MERDEKA Agreement. He can be rightly called one of the founding fathers of the nation.

மலாயா சுதந்திரப் பிரகடன ஒப்பந்தத்தில் கையெழுத்திட்டவர்களில் ஒருவர் துன் வீ.தி சம்பந்தன். இவர் தேச நிர்மானத் தந்தைகளில் ஒருவர் என்று சொன்னால் தவறில்லை.


Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 11.53.28 AM

Tan Sri Manickavasagam (1973-1979)



Tan Sri Dato’V. Manickavasagam sixth President of the party placed the MIC on a strong footing with a seven-story headquarters. He introduced many economic projects.

கட்சியின் ஆறாவது தலைவரான டான்ஶ்ரீ மாணிக்கவாசகம், ஏழுமாடி தலைமையகக் கட்டிடத்தை எழுப்பி, மஇகாவிற்கு வழுவானதோர் அடித்தளத்தை வழங்கியர்.  பல்வேறு பொருளாதாரத் திட்டங்களை அறிபுகப்படுத்தியவர்.



Dato’ Seri Utama Samy Vellu (1979 – 2010)


Dato Seri Utama Samy Vellu’s political career began at the age of 23, in 1959, when he and Govindaraj joined the Batu Caves MIC branch. After five years, he was elected Selangor MIC committee member and the head of the party.

From 1974 to March 2008 he was a member of the House of Representatives of the Malaysian Parliament and from 1979 to December 2010 he was President of Malaysian Indian Congress and a partner in the ruling National Front Coalition. During this time, from 1978 to 1979 he was Deputy Minister of Local Government and Housing. Then from 1979 to 1989 he was Minister of Works. He then served as Minister of Energy, Telecommunications and Posts from 1989 to 1995. From 1995 to March 2008 he was the Minister of Works



Datuk Seri G.Palanivel (2010 - 2014)

Datuk Seri G.Palanivel
(2010 – 2014)





Datuk Seri G. Palanivel became the 8th President of the Malaysian Indian Congress on 6 December 2010. He rose through rank and file in MIC after he had a long and eventful membership since 1968 while in Penang, his hometown. He took over the helm of leadership from Dato Seri S Samy Vellu in a smooth transition of power.


Pin It